The following is a news release from the U.S. Cattlemen’s Association

(WASHINGTON) – Today, Senators Ben Sasse (R-NE) and Jon Tester (D-MT) introduced a bipartisan bill to provide livestock haulers with regulatory relief from the restrictive Hours-of-Service (HOS) rules. The bill, the Transporting Livestock Across America Safely Act, offers a prescriptive and permanent solution to the “bull hauler’s hassle”. 17 other Senators joined in support of the legislation.

Specifically, the bill would make the following changes:

  • Increase the exempt air miles from the current 150 to 300
  • Increase the current driving time from 11 hours to not less than 15 and no more than 18 hours
  • Grant flexibility for drivers to rest when they need to without counting against the hours of service time
  • If a driver comes within 150 air miles of their delivery point, they may continue to finish their delivery regardless of hours of service.
  • After the drive is completed a driver will rest for 10 hours if hours of service are 15 hours of driving time and for 13 hours of hours of service if driving time is 18 hours.

United States Cattlemen’s Association (USCA) Transportation Committee Chairman Steve Hilker issued the following statement:

“We greatly appreciate the work of Senators Tester and Sasse in bringing forth a prescriptive solution for livestock haulers that gives them the flexibility needed to get their live cargo to its destination as safely and efficiently as possible. This bill will not only allow drivers to take a rest break when it is needed, not when it is required, it will also increase the safety and welfare of the animals.

“USCA has led on this issue from the beginning and we will see it through to its end. We look forward to broad bipartisan support of this legislation that will allow for swift passage into law.”

Thank you to the following co-sponsors! 

Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith

Senator Kevin Cramer  Senator Jerry Moran
Senator James Risch  Senator Doug Jones
Senator Steve Daines  Senator John Hoeven
Senator Marco Rubio  Senator Mike Rounds
Senator James Lankford  Senator Mike Braun
Senator Tina Smith  Senator Mike Enzi
Senator Mike Crapo  Senator Joni Ernst
Senator Pat Roberts  Senator Deb Fischer