SALINA – U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue recently announced a Secretarial Agriculture Disaster Declaration for Rawlins and surrounding counties.

“Farmers and ranchers are always at the mercy of Mother Nature,” said U.S. Congressman Roger Marshall, M.D. “It is important that we provide them with the resources necessary for rebuilding and overcoming the damage done by prolonged severe weather events. I applaud Secretary Perdue for implementing this disaster declaration and continuing his support for our producers and rural communities.”

The disaster declaration was made as a result of damage sustained from excessive rain, flash flooding, high winds, and hail that occurred from Aug. 11 – 14, 2019. Rawlins has been designated as the primary natural disaster area. Cheyenne, Decatur, Sherman and Thomas counties have been named as contiguous disaster counties and are also eligible for assistance.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary and contiguous counties eligible for certain assistance from the Farm Services Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the disaster declaration made on to apply for assistance. Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with additional information.